This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Saracens vs Sharks match preview

09 May 2003

Harris back in Sharks squad

Dan Harris has recovered from a shoulder injury and returns to the Sharks' squad for their crucial final Zurich Premiership game against Saracens at Vicarage Road tomorrow.

Ironically, Vaughan Going, the player who replaced him last week, is now out of action with a shoulder injury of his own and may require surgery.

For the first time, the squad will include Sharks'alternative Chris Jones. The highly rated forward islikely to be in the starting line-up but his namesake, Chris Rhys Jones has been named in the travelling 22.The powerfully built centre who hails from St Helens and impressed in the cross-code game against his home town RL team, has a Welsh qualification.

Coach Jim Mallinder said: "We should be pretty much as we were last week against London Wasps but it is a pity Vaughan is out of contention because he has been in very good form recently. The important thing now is to get him fit for next season. We are expecting a very hard game at a venue where we have never won and both sides have plenty to play for."

"At the start of the season our target was a place in the play-offs involving the top three clubs and we know we have to win to be sure of that.  Saracens will be smarting from their narrow defeat at Newcastle that left them in need of a point to be sure of avoiding relegation. As we don't want to miss out on the play-offs it should be quite a keen contest."

"We are assured of a European place next season, but we want to give ourselves the chance of  taking on Gloucester in the Championship Final at Twickenham at the end of the month."


Anthony Elliott, Jason Robinson, Mark Cueto, Steve Hanley, Chris Rhys Jones,Dan Harris, Graeme Bond, Jos Baxendell, Bryan Redpath, Nick Walshe. Jim Thorp, Barry Stewart, Kevin Yates, Charl Marais, Andy Titterrell, Dean Schofield, Chris Jones, Iain Fullarton, Pete Anglesea, Magnus Lund, Stuart Pinkerton, Phil Davies.